What successful freelancers/consultants wish they’d known from the start?

Before you send over your CV or resume to that agency claiming they have a contract/project in your related field, ask who the client is, job responsibilities and location of the project to be performed.

After you gather enough information (most companies will come forward with this information some will not release the name of the company until you have sent them your CV), check out LinkedIn or similar professional social media and find an ex-employee or current employee and ask those serious questions about the work environment, management style and what is a day-to-day look like at your company/department?

They’re easy to get along with

After a while you’ll find that some jobs/clients are better than others. So you don’t feel desperate and you’re able to say “no I don’t need to take on this project, I can wait for something better to come along” and it usually does.

I hope you don’t feel daunted by this! I just learnt this stuff the hard way and I don’t want you to as well. You will make mistakes, but everyone does and the important thing is to learn from them.

Not every client is worth it!

Next time, I will cover contracts, legalese languages and what to look for with some examples. I will also cover USA [Employment at Will] and EU [Right to work] laws and which agencies or third parties you should avoid.

Beware, agencies already have a boiler-platter contract and may not be applicable to the jurisdiction where you currently reside and/or where the client is located at. We will get in some stuff you don’t supposed to know.

Anayansi Gamboa, “I am someone who influence my own development. I look for a company where I have the opportunity to pursue my interests across functions and geographies, and where a job title is not considered the final definition of who I am, but the starting point.”

Looking for a clinical programmer? Use the Contact Me! form to get in touch.

Legista sine canonibus parum valet, canonista sine legibus nihil

Disclaimer: The EDC Developer blog is “one man’s opinion”. Anything that is said on the report is either opinion, criticism, information or commentary. If making any type of investment or legal decision it would be wise to contact or consult a professional before making that decision

