It has been a little while since my last blog. I have been busy this summer with the acquisition of a new member of our family – a 7 weeks-old White Westie. I have been most of the summer taking him to the park, riding the bike to the local beach or lake in his mini doggie ride. On top of that, I have been busy with client projects and meetings.

With my job, I work as a consultant for pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies. So what makes this job special?

Experiences

As a consultant, I get the chance to work with many clients and projects. With each opportunity, I learn a new perspective and approach that has been taken to building various clinical databases that support clinical trials. There have been a number of occasions where problems between clients are similar and this similarity allows me to bring those experiences to the next client.

Challenge

My clients don’t often bring me in for the small and easy stuff. For that, their staff usually has the capacity to handle their needs. The time to turn to consultants is when the timelines or technical depth of the project requires outside help. Because of this, I often find myself on engagements that are relatively challenging. I can really take lessons from one client and apply them to all others.

I get exposed to things I already have ‘expertise’ in and I also get exposed to things I only know academically. I get to learn!

Mentoring

I love teaching. Being a consultant provides an excellent opportunity to do this. I have been working with a lot of clients in a mentoring relationship. Sometimes in person, sometimes via webex.
I like to think I made a difference for each and one of my employers/clients I have worked for.

Freedom

One bonus of working in the Pharmaceutical industry has been the ability to exercise a lot of freedom in choosing where to move my career. As my skills and interests have changed through the years, so too have my responsibilities and assignments.
So life has been busier in some ways but it has been more flexible.

I have had more scheduled flexibility than I ever had.

So until my next post, tell me why do you like your job?

Anayansi Gamboa has an extensive background in clinical data management as well as experience with different EDC systems including Oracle InForm, InForm Architect, Central Designer, CIS, Clintrial, Medidata Rave, Central Coding, OpenClinica Open Source and Oracle Clinical.

