First of all, let me clarify by saying that I am not an expert when it comes to Timaeus. I recently came across this EDC tool while working on a project. We were testing out different EDC applications as part of their new infrastructure solution.

At first, I was hesitant to learn about it. All I knew was that you need it to know ‘Python’. The main programming language for their edit checks/validations and back-end structure but after my first encounter with the tool, I changed my mind. This is one of the easiest tool to use and deploy your clinical study you can find in the market, nowadays.

With that being said, What is Timaeus? This another EDC tool, trial builder application provided by Cmed Technology www.cmedresearch.com which helps build eCRF (data entry screens), edit checks/validations, external loading data and other config files.

In order to grasp this new tool, you will need to familiarize yourself with other technologies such as HTML, XML, Emacs, SVN, Python and the like and understand the TMPL element concept.

TMPL stands for “Timaeus Markup Language”. It has a bit of pieces of codes similar to what you see in HTML or XML files.

Even though the system is lacking of front-end features we are so used to in comparison with similar EDC solutions, nevertheless, this tool gets my thumps up for ease of use, cost-effectiveness, change control capabilities and one of the most robust security systems to capture electronic records as per CFR11 regulations.

